Faculty 

Serving as a catalyst for multidisciplinary collaboration, GHI faculty are affiliated with various departments across the University of Arizona Health Sciences and partner institutes.

Halimatou Alaofe

Halimatou Alaofe, PhD, MSc

Assistant Professor
Health Promotion Sciences Department
halaofe@arizona.edu

Gail Barker

Gail P. Barker, PhD, MBA

Principal Lecturer 
Phoenix Campus
barkerg@arizona.edu

Paloma Beamer

Paloma Beamer, PhD

Professor, Public Health
Community, Environment & Policy Department
pbeamer@arizona.edu

 

Heidi Brown

Heidi Brown, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
heidibrown@arizona.edu
 

Jeff Burgess

Jeff Burgess, MD, MS, MPH

Professor
Community, Environment & Policy Department
jburgess@arizona.edu

Doug Campos Outcalt

Doug Campos-Outcalt, MDA, MPA

Senior Lecturer
Phoenix Campus Department
dougco@arizona.edu

Carmona

Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS

Distinguished Professor
Health Promotion Sciences & Community, Environment and Policy
pmaxwell@canyonranch.com

Zhao Chen

Zhao Chen, PhD, MPH

Associate Dean for Research, Distinguished Professor and Department Chair
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
zchen@arizona.edu

Coppola

Lynn Coppola, MD, MPH

Physician and Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Fellow, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
lcoppola@arizona.edu

Duncan

Burris Duncan, MD

Professor Emeritus, Public Health & Pediatrics
Health Promotion Sciences Department
bduncan@peds.arizona.edu

Ehiri

John Ehiri, PhD, MPH, MSc

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor
Health Promotion Sciences Department
jehiri@arizona.edu

Ellingson

Katherine (Kate) Ellingson, PhD

Associate Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
kellingson@arizona.edu

ernst

Kacey Ernst, PhD, MPH

Professor and Program Director, Epidemiology
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
kernst@arizona.edu

Foote

Janet Foote, PhD

Associate Professor of Practice
Phoenix Campus Department
jfoote@arizona.edu

Frank von Hipple photo

Christine L. Girard, ND, MPH

Senior Lecturer
Phoenix Campus Department
christinegirard@arizona.edu

Hakim

Iman Hakim, MBBCh, PhD, MPH

Dean and Professor, Mel & Enid Zuckerman Endowed Chair of Public Health
ihakim@arizona.edu

Phil

Phillip Harber MD, MPH

Adjunct Professor
Community, Environment & Policy Department
pharber@arizona.edu

Frank von Hipple photo

Frank A. von Hippel PhD

Professor
Community, Environmental & Policy Department
frankvonhippel@arizona.edu

Kilungo

Aminata Kilungo PhD

Assistant Professor of Practice
Community, Environment & Policy Department
paminata@arizona.edu

Krupp

Karl Krupp, PhD

Assistant Professor
Phoenix Campus Department
kkrupp@arizona.edu

Madhivanan

Purnima Madhivanan MBSS, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor
Family and Child Health & Global Health
Health Promotion Sciences Department
pmadhivanan@arizona.edu

 

Magrath

Priscilla Magrath PhD

Senior Lecturer
Health Promotion Sciences Department
pmagrath@arizona.edu

Orourke

Mary Kay O'Rourke, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Community, Environment & Policy Department
mkor@arizona.edu

Pogreba-Brown

Kristen Pogreba-Brown, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
kpogreba@arizona.edu

Reynolds

Kelly Reynolds, MSPH, PhD

Professor, Department Chair of Community, Environment and Policy
Director, ESRAC

reynolds@arizona.edu

 

Rosales

Cecilia Rosales, MD, MS

Associate Dean of Community Engagement and Outreach
Associate Dean, Phoenix Programs
Phoenix Campus Department
crosales@arizona.edu

J Sexton

Jonathan D. Sexton, MS, PhD

Laboratory Manager
Community, Environment & Policy Department
sextonj@arizona.edu

Sheila

Sheila Soto, MPH

Program Manager
Primary Prevention Mobile Health Unit - Southern Arizona
ssoto2@arizona.edu

Tanniru

Mohan Tanniru, PhD

Professor
Phoenix Campus Department
mtanniru@arizona.edu

 

Block A

William (Raju) Thiagarajan, MD, MPH

Adjunct Professor, Public Health
Phoenix Campus Department
rthiagarajan@arizona.edu

Cindy Thompson

Cynthia A. Thomson, PhD, RD

Professor and Director, Zuckerman Family Center for Prevention and Health Promotion
Health Promotion Sciences Department
cthomson@arizona.edu

Gabriela Valdez

Gabriela Valdez, PhD

Director, Global Education; Assistant Professor of Practice; Director of Global Health Program
Global Health Institute, Health Promotion Sciences Department
gvaldez@arizona.edu

Cindy Thompson

Yevheniia Varyvoda, PhD

Research Professional
Health Promotion Sciences Department
varyvoda@arizona.edu

Dennis Walto

Dennis Walto, MA

Adjunct Lecturer, Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
Chief of External Affairs, Chiricahua Community Health Centers, Inc. & Executive Director, Chiricahua Health Foundation
denniswalto@arizona.edu

Global Faculty

Shatha

Shatha Saeed Hamad Al Sharbatti, PhD, Msc, DCM

Professor and Head of Community Medicine
Gulf Medical University

Tatjana

Tatjana Ille, MD. PhD, MSc

Head - Dept. of Gen. Education; Professor of Biostatistics/Research Methodology
Gulf Medical University

Jaya

Jayakumary Muttappallymyalil, MBBS, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Community Medicine; Chairperson, Community Engagement
Gulf Medical University

Jayadevan

Jayadevan Sreedharan, PhD Biostatistics, PhD Epidemiology

Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics; Program Director - MPH
Gulf Medical University

Jaya

Anusha Sreejith, PhD, MSc

Assistant Professor of Demography
Gulf Medical University