Faculty

Serving as a catalyst for multidisciplinary collaboration, GHI faculty members and lecturers are affiliated with various departments across the University of Arizona Health Sciences.

Halimatou Alaofe

Halimatou Alaofe, PhD, MSc

Assistant Professor
Health Promotion Sciences Department
halaofe@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-5614

Paloma Beamer

Paloma Beamer, PhD

Associate Professor
Community, Environment & Policy Department
pbeamer@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-0006

Heidi Brown

Heidi Brown, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
heidibrown@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-2262

Jeff Burgess

Jeff Burgess, MD, MS, MPH

Professor and Associate Dean for Research
Community, Environment & Policy Department
jburgess@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-4918

Carmona

Richard H. Carmona, MD, MPH, FACS

Distinguished Professor
Health Promotion Sciences & Community, Environment and Policy
pmaxwell@canyonranch.com
(520) 749-9655 ext. 4889

Zhao Chen

Zhao Chen, PhD, MPH

Distinguished Professor and Department Chair
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
zchen@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-9011

Coppola

Lynn Coppola, MD, MPH

Physician and Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Fellow, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
lcoppola@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6174

Duncan

Burris Duncan, MD

Professor Emeritus, Public Health & Pediatrics
Health Promotion Sciences Department
bduncan@peds.arizona.edu
(520) 907-7865

Ehiri

John Ehiri, PhD, MPH, MSc

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor
Health Promotion Sciences Department
jehiri@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-1355

Ellingson

Katherine (Kate) Ellingson, PhD

Assistant Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
kellingson@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3118

ernst

Kacey Ernst, PhD, MPH

Professor and Program Director
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
kernst@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7374

Foote

Janet Foote, PhD

Assistant Professor
Phoenix Campus Department
jfoote@email.arizona.edu
(602) 827-2239

Hakim

Iman Hakim, MBBCh, PhD, MPH

Dean and Professor, Mel & Enid Zuckerman Endowed Chair of Public Health
ihakim@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-7083

Phil

Phillip Harber MD, MPH

Adjunct Professor
Community, Environment & Policy Department
pharber@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-1263

Frank von Hipple photo

Frank A. von Hippel PhD

Professor
Community, Environmental & Policy Department
frankvonhippel@arizona.edu
(520) 621-8447

Kilungo

Aminata Kilungo PhD

Assistant Professor of Practice
Health Promotion Sciences Department
paminata@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-1263

Madhivanan

Purnima Madhivanan MBSS, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor
Family and Child Health & Global Health
Health Promotion Sciences Department
pmadhivanan@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-5730

Magrath

Priscilla Magrath PhD

Lecturer
Health Promotion Sciences Department
pmagrath@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-2850

Orourke

Mary Kay O'Rourke, PhD

Professor Emeritus
Community, Environment & Policy Department
mkor@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-6835

Pogreba-Brown

Kristen Pogreba-Brown

Assistant Professor
Epidemiology and Biostatistics Department
kpogreba@email.arizona.edu
(520) 626-3076

Reynolds

Kelly Reynolds, MSPH, PhD

Professor ,Department Chair of Community, Environment and Policy
Director, Environment, Exposure Science & Risk Assessment Center
reynolds@u.arizona.edu
(520) 626-8230

Rosales

Cecilia Rosales, MD, MS

Associate Dean of Community Engagement and Outreach
Associate Dean, Phoenix Programs
Phoenix Campus Department
crosales@email.arizona.edu

Tanniru

Mohan Tanniru, PhD

Professor
Phoenix Campus Department
mtanniru@arizona.edu

Cindy Thompson

Cynthia A. Thomson, PhD, RD

Director, Zuckerman Family Center for Prevention and Health Promotion
Professor, Health Promotion Sciences Department
cthomson@email.arizona.edu
(520) 621-2650

Gabriela Valdez

Gabriela Valdez, PhD

Director, Global Education; Assistant Professor of Practice; Director of Global Health Programs
Global Health Institute, Health Promotion Sciences Department
gvaldez@arizona.edu
(520) 621-6530